Getting Over You

6 Months

you weren’t who I thought I wanted, but I fell for you just the same. you had that ginger hair I always said I hated, and those damn turquoise eyes. when you laughed the first time I swear I fell in love, and each time you smiled I think I stopped breathing.

and then you left

why’d you leave me? was I not good enough? was I not pretty enough? were there too many other girls to choose from?

was it the way I talked

or the way I laughed

or the way I was so hopelessly in love with you

I tried to be okay when you left, I really did. I went out with my friends almost every night. I buried myself in work. I went home and I cooked dinner and I fed my cat and I went to bed. everything was normal. I thought I was fine.

and then it hit me.

you were gone. gone forever. you were never coming back, and I swear the first time it hit me I thought I was going to be sick. I didn’t know what to do.

I tried alcohol. I thought maybe it’d erase your memory…all it did was make me sicker

I tried music and movies and social media. maybe being online would make me stop thinking about you…but I just saw all our old pictures, and songs, and favorite movies and all I could think of was you

I tried sleep. maybe if I was asleep you’d be off my mind…but you showed up in all my dreams

I tried never being in silence. maybe if I flooded my mind with conversations and information there’d be no room for you…somehow you still found your way in.

I tried to drown you out. but it never worked. it’s been 6 months now, and I’m still crying when I hear your favorite song. when does it end? I don’t know, but all I know is I’ve tried everything, and I still can’t get you off my mind.

m.s.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “6 Months

  1. Listen, I don’t know you. But, I can see a very familiar reflection there. I can’t let the same thing happen to you.
    Let it go. Just let it go.
    Past is past. Let is be past. Forget it.
    Leave every moment/memory that reminds you of him.
    Save yourself.
    Start writing out more. Looks like you are new to blogging. I am happy you are taking writing as a medium to vent your feelings out.
    There is lot more to see and experience. Don’t let this negativity make you miss those wonderful that will come your way if you let them in.
    Take care.
    Write more. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your concern! I’m actually in a very happy relationship right now, and created this blog to hopefully help others through their struggles as I write stories that relate to me. This story was based on a past relationship, but it does not reflect my feelings at the current time. Thank you for your kind words 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

